Classic Computer Magazine Archive START VOL. 3 NO. 10 / MAY 1989

ON DISK!

GFA Object

A 3D-Modeling Program For Use With GFA BASIC

BY ANDREW REESE
START EDITOR


In the January 1989 issue of START, we brought GFA BASIC 2.0 to the START disk and your response was overwhelming. This issue, we present GFA Object for use with color monitors. GFA Object lets you create three-dimensional objects that you can use in your own GFA BASIC programs. If you're at all interested in 3D, read on. . .

Into the third dimension with GFA Object. Files OBJECT.ARC and ANIMATOR.ARC on your START Disk!

Most of you are aware of the power of GFA BASIC. Version 2.0 of the Interpreter is the standard against which all BASICs for the ST are judged.

Because of the power of GFA BASIC, GFA Systemtechnik created a whole series of programs designed to work with it--and many were actually written in GFA BASIC itself. GFA Object, featured on this issue's START disk, is a good example. It not only shows just how capable GFA BASIC is as a language, it also is a powerful 3-D object creator in its own right. You can use it to create objects or images for use in your own GFA BASIC programs or as macro-data for use in GFA Draft Plus. As a bonus, you can use objects created in GFA Object with GFA Vector, the 3D animation program, coming to you soon on your START disk!


Getting Started

GFA Object is on your START disk in the file OBJECT.ARC along with six module files. (Modules are basic shapes--building blocks for more complex objects.) Copy OBJECT.ARC to a blank, formatted disk and un-ARC it, following the disk instructions located elsewhere in this issue. When you are finished, double-click on the OBJ_COLR.PRG icon to run the program. You will need an ST or Mega system with a color monitor to run GFA Object and must be in medium resolution.

Because it's impossible to reproduce the entire GFA Object manual in the pages of START, what follows is a quick overview with some basic information and a button-by-button and menu-by-menu explanation of the program's functions. However, just as we were able to do with GFA BASIC 2.0, we have obtained a limited number of copies of the original 150-page manual. If you would like to purchase one, see the instructions at the end of this article.

When GFA Object loads, you will see the editing screen shown in Figure 1. This is the screen in which you will create and edit your objects. The main window (the Edit Field) shows the Front View of any object, while the two small Help Screens to the right show the Right and Top Views (and are labeled, appropriately, as "From Right" and "From Top"). The menu bar at the top of the screen includes Desk, File, Edit, Object, Mod+Block and Options headings. Below the two Help Screens are the Z-scroller, the coordinates box and the status box.


Diving In

If you are familiar with CAD-3D and Cyber Sculpt from Antic Software, you may be a bit disorientated in the GFA Object universe at first. In GFA Object, the Y-axis runs vertically in the front view, the X-axis horizontally and the Z-axis represents depth. In the Edit Field, the origin (0,0 point) in the X and Y dimensions is in the lower left-hand corner of the window and the dimensions of the universe are approximately 42,000 units (pixels) in all directions.

When you enter GFA Object, you will be in Point mode, as indicated in the status box. In this mode, you can place points anywhere in the Edit Field. To create edges, you will need to select the Edge mode from the Edit Menu In the Edge mode, you can create edges by first left-clicking once in the Edit Field. When you do so, you will see a question mark appear in the status box. This indicates that you have not finished an edge. When you left-click a second time in the Edit Field, you will see an edge line appear between the two points. As long as you are at the same Z-location as an edge, it will appear as a solid line; move away from that Z-location and it will appear as a doted line

To create a surface, select Surface mode from the Edit window and place up to 20 points in the Edit Field; as long as you have not finished a face, two question marks will appear in the status box. You must finish a surface by left-clicking on the first point you set. You may find it difficult to find the precise location of that first point; if you do, move the cross-hairs near the point and then right-click. The cross-hairs will move to the closest point; if it's the first point you set, left-click and you will complete a surface.

gfaobject1.jpg
Figure 1. GFA Object's Edit Field, in which you create and modify
your objects. All functions are selected from the extensive drop-
down menus for easy operation.

If you try out making a few edges, you will notice in the help screens that they are all in the same plane, i.e at the same Z-location. You may use the Z-scroller to change the Z-location. Click on the double arrows to change it rapidly or the single arrows to change it more gradually. If you want to change the Z-location quickly to that of one of the points in the Edit Field, left-click on the "Z" in the center of the Z-scroller. The cursor will change to an open cross-hairs. Place the cursor over the point whose Z-location you wish to use and left-click. The Z-location will immediately change to that of the point.

Alternatively, you may left-click on the Z location in the Coordinates box. The Z-location will disappear and you may then type in a new Z-location. Finally, you may use the sliders on either of the help screens to move the Z-location roughly. To move them, you must click and hold the left mouse button on the slider "handle." You can then drag it in the direction you want.

NOTE: Unlike CAD-3D and Cyber Sculpt, creating a series of connected edges does not create a surface. You must use the Surface mode to create a surface that will be shaded in the Display mode.


Coming Up For Air

Take a few minutes to play with the program. You can create surprisingly complex objects through the simple techniques you've already learned. Don't worry if you make mistakes. You can't hurt your computer by making a Frankenstein's monster of a mess in the Edit Field. When you're done playing, select New object from the File Menu. When you click on the Yes box in the confirming dialog box, all your mess will be gone. Let's run down the menus now.


The Desk Menu


The File Menu


The Edit Menu


The Object Menu


The Mod+Block Menu


The Options Menu


Extras

We've also included on your START disk an animator program that does two things: First, it lets you convert your GFA Object .OBJ files into .DAT vector files so that you can load them into GFA Vector and GFA BASIC as objects. Second, it lets you experiment with animation of any object with fewer than 1,024 points. Now, you can get a feel for how your object will look in motion.

gfaobject2.jpg
Figure 2. You can choose a number of options for the Display
screen. For example, you can choose to hide the lines at the back
of an object, set a vanishing point and apply perspective and define
the location of the light source.

The Animator program is called ANIMATOR.PRG; you will also need to have ANIMATOR.CHN in the same directory to run Animator. These two files are contained in a separate ARC file named ANIMATOR.ARC. To use Animator, un-ARC ANIMATOR.ARC following the Disk Instructions located elsewhere in this issue and then double-click on ANIMATOR.PRG in either medium (color) or high (monochrome) resolution.

Also, on an upcoming START disk, we will present a file converter program to convert GFA Object files to CAD-3D format and vice-versa. Watch for it!

Finally, we have available a limited number of the original 150-page manuals for GFA Object. The price for the manual is $12.95, plus $3.50 shipping and handling. For VISA and MasterCard orders, simply call the Disk Desk toll-free at (800) 234-7001 and ask for #TH0002 or send your check or money order in the amount of $16.45 to: GFA Object Book Offer, 544 Second Street, San Francisco, CA 94107. Remember, the number of manuals is limited, so act fast!

If you would like to buy the original GFA Object manual, see page 54 for details.